KFUPM logo


King Fahd University of Petroleum & Minerals

Electrical Engineering Department

Associate Professor

Dr. Sharif Iqbal, Sheikh


Experience Record:


    - Prepared the 1st batch of animated and interactive online courses using Micromedia software’s

    - Introduced new undergraduate and graduate courses and laboratories.

    - Coordinated the planning and implementation of Electrical Engineering open access initiative. 

    - Developed and helped implementing the curriculum of a diploma program in Electrical Engineering Technology for a local community college.  

    - Supervised and contributed to graduate theses, leading to innovative inventions and patents.

    - Involved in funded research and development projects with a total fund of half-a-million USD.

    - Scientific contribution includes 2 US patents, 71 research papers in journals and proceedings, Technical reports for 7 industrial projects and 5 papers on improving online engineering education

    - Organized several IEEE/IEE sponsored conferences and co-chaired technical sessions.

    - Presented 20+ short courses, workshop and seminars to industry and international universities. 

    - Established Saudi Arabian chapter of The Institute of Engineering and Technology (IET), UK in 2007



-  Recipient of ‘University Distinction Award for Excellence in Teaching’ in 2008 and 2012.

-  ‘Distinguished Instructional Technology Award’ in 2005 and 2012.

-  ‘University Excellence in Academic Advising Award’ in 2009.

-  Recipient of ‘Distinguished Performance in Student Activities’ in 2000, 2002 and 2005.

-  ‘Outstanding Capstone Project Award‘, in spring term of 2016 (as project supervisor).

-  ‘University Rectors Cup Sports Award’ in 2001 to 2006, 2010, 2012 and 2014.

-  Recipient of ‘Best Antenna Paper Award’ of an International conference (2001 IEE-ICAP, UK).

-  ‘Hermann-Gmeiner Awards for Higher Education’ from 1990 to 1995.


Disclaimer: Material are provided on this page for the sole purpose of timely information dissemination, and the copyrights belong to the authors and the corresponding publishers unless otherwise stated.


Copyright © 2008