Physics 201 Lecture Schedule

First Semester 2004/2005 (041)

Instructor:  Dr. Omar Salim Binbrek (B6/219, Tel: 2275, email:obinbrek@kfupm.edu.sa)

Textbook: “Fundamentals of Physics  Sixth Edition Extended, Saunders, by Halliday, Resnick and Walker.

 

Date

Topics

Cha.

Sec.

Hwk Problems

 

1

Sat., Sep. 11

Mon., Sep. 13

Wed, Sep 15

Faraday’s Law

Induced emfs and Electric Fields, Inductance

 RL Circuits

31

1-4

5-7

8-10

To be assigned

in class.

 

2

Sat, Sep 18

Mon, Sep 20

Wed, Sep 22

Thu. Sep 23

Mutual Induction

Magnetism

Magnetic Materials

Induced Magnetic Fields, Displacement Current

 

32

 

 

11-12

1- 4

5-8

9-11

 

Sat., Sep 25: Last day for dropping Courses without Permanent Record

 

3

Sat, Sep 25

Mon, Sep 27

Wed, Sep 29

Thu, Sep 30

LC Oscillations

RLC Circuit, Phasors

 Series RLC Circuit

EM Waves

33

 

 

 34

1-4

5-8

9-11

1-3

 

 

4

Sat, Oct. 02

Mon, Oct. 04

Wed, Oct. 06

Energy Carried by EM Waves

Polarization, Reflection and Refraction

Total internal reflection

 

4-5

6-7

8-9

 

 

5

Sat, Oct 09

Mon, Oct 11

Wed, Oct 13

Images, Plane and spherical mirrors

Spherical refracting surfaces, thin lenses

Interference

35

 

36

1-4

5-6

1-2

 

 

 

6

Sat, Oct 16

Review

 

 

 

Sunday, Oct 17 - First Major Exam, Chapters (31 -34)

Mon, Oct 18

Wed, Oct 20

Young’s Interference Experiment

Intensity in Double-Slit Experiment

 

3-5

6-7

 

 

7

Sat, Oct 23

Mon, Oct 25

Wed, Oct 27

Michelson’s Interferometer

Diffraction, Single Slit

Diffraction ,Double Slit

 

37

 

8

1-4

5-6

 

Tuesday, Oct 26 - Last day of dropping courses with grade of ‘W’

 

8

Sat, Oct 30

Mon, Nov. 01

Wed, Nov. 03

 Diffraction Grating, Resolving Power

Relativity

Relativity of Time and Length

 

38

 

7-8

1-4

5-6

 

Eid  Al-Fitr Vacation  (04 -19 November 2004)

 

9

Sat, Nov. 20

Mon, Nov 22

Wed, Nov 24

Lorentz Transformation

Doppler Effect  for Light, Momentum, Energy

Photons and Waves, Photoelectric Effect

 

 

39

7-9

10-12

1-3

 

10

Sat, Nov 27

Mon, Nov 29

Wed, Dec. 01

Photons Have Momentum, Probability Wave

The Schrödinger Equation, Uncertainty Principle

Energies of a Trapped Electron

 

 

40

4 – 6

7-9

1-3

 

11

Sat, Dec. 04

Mon, Dec. 06

Wed, Dec. 08

Two and Three Dimensional trap

The Hydrogen Atom

Some Properties of Atoms

 

 

41

4,5,7

8

1 - 5

 

 

 

12

Sat, Dec. 11

Review

 

 

 

Saturday, December 11 - Second Major Exam (Chap  35 - 40)

 

Mon, Dec. 13

Wed, Dec. 15

Pauli Exclusion Principle, Periodic Table

Lasers and Laser Light

 

7-9

11- 12

 

 

13

 

Sat, Dec. 18

Mon, Dec. 20

Wed, Dec. 22

Electrical Properties of Solids

Metals

Semiconductors

42

 

 

1-4

5

6-7

 

 

14

Sat, Dec.25

Mon, Dec. 27

Wed, Dec. 29

Some Nuclear Properties

Radioactive Decay

Beta Decay, Radioactive Dating

43

 

 

1-2

3-4

5-6

 

 

15

Sat, Jan. 01

Mon, Jan. 03

Nuclear Fission

Nuclear Fusion. Last day of classes

44

 

1-2

6 - 7

 

Jan 04 - 13, 2005    Final Exams

 

 


Physics 201 Lab Schedule

 

First Semester 2004/2005  ( 041 )

 

_____________________________________________________________________

 

Week                           Date                             Experiment Title

_____________________________________________________________________

 

1                                  Sep 11-15                    No Lab

 

2                                  Sep 18-22                    Error Analysis

 

3                                  Sep 25-29                    Current Balance

 

4                                  Oct 2-6                        RC Circuits

 

5                                  Oct 9-13                      RLC Circuits

 

6                                  Oct 16-20                    Thin Lens and Spherical Mirrors

 

7                                  Oct 23-27                    Refractive Index and Colour

 

8                                  Oct 30-Nov 3              Michelson Interferometer

 

9                                  Nov 20-24                   Diffraction of Light

 

10                                Nov 27-01 Dec            Grating and Spectroscopy

 

11                                Dec 04-08                   Polarization of Light

 

12                                Dec 11-15                   Atomic Constants

 

13                                Dec 18-22                   Radiation Detection

 

14                                Dec 25-29                   Lab Final

 

15                                Jan 01-03                     No Lab

 

_____________________________________________________________________

 

                                                                                                                        Dr O.S.Binbrek

Office : 6/219

Tel:860 2275


 

 

 

 

 

King Fahd University of Petroleum and Minerals____________________________________                                                                      

Department of Physics

 

Physics 201 – General Physics III

First Semester 2004-05 (041)

Coordination and Grading Policy

 

         Course Description:        A continuation of Phys 101 and 102. Topics covered include inductance; magnetic properties of matter; electromagnetic oscillations and waves; geometrical and physical optics. Relativity, introduction to quantum physics, atomic and molecular physics, nuclear physics, particle physics and cosmology.

 

                          Textbook:        Halliday, Resnick, and Walker, “Fundamentals of Physics, 6th Edition Extended, Wiley (2001).

 

                Method:          The course material will be presented in lectures. Problem-solving techniques will be shown recitations. Demonstrations and audiovisuals will be used to clarify material if available.

 

                     Prerequisites        Physics 102, General Physics II

                                                    Math 102 Calculus II

 

                 Grading Policy:        The course grade will be evaluated as follows:

 

                                                    Class Work                                       15 %

                                                    Laboratory                                        20 %

                                                    First Major Exam                              15 %

                                                    Second Major Exam                         20 %

                                                    Final Exam                                         30 %

 

The Class Work will be on Quizzes and Homework.

 

The Laboratory score will be based on the Lab reports and the Lab final Exam.

 

Labs start on the second week of the classes (i.e. Monday, September 20, 2004)

 

Attendance will be evaluated according to the University Regulations. Attendance in lectures, recitations and labs is compulsory. It will be enforced and evaluated according to the current university regulations. A DN grade shall be given to the student who has 3 absences in labs or 12 unexcused absences in (lectures + recitations) or the combination of both. Student who has valid excuse for his absence must present officially authorized document to his instructor no later than one week following his resumption to the classes.